Glock 30 Review – Glock 30SF Review

The Glock 30 is a compact version of the Glock 21 .45 ACP pistol. It is a Glock in all respects. Light weight, highly reliable, and the small size does not hinder accuracy. The Glock 30 will punch big 45 caliber holes with the precision of any Glock. The Glock 30 holds 10 rounds of .45 ACP and will accept the larger capacity 13 round magazine. of the Glock 21. The magazine has a thick base which does provide a rest for the little finger. Shooting the Glock 30 with standard magazine is comfortable and allows plenty of control. If you have large hands then perhaps a Pearce or Scherer magazine extension will help.

Glock 30 Review - Glock 30SF Review

Glock 30 Review – Glock 30SF Review

The Glock 30 SF is a .45 ACP compact size pistol with a smaller size grip. The trigger reach is 3mm shorter than the full size Glock 30. Capacity is 10 rounds of .45 ACP in a double stack magazine. The Glock 30SF frame is checkered with finger grooves. A feature I like on all Glocks is the flat textured forward face of trigger guard.

The 30 SF is a wide pistol, about 1 1/8th inches wide. Even so it is popular for concealed carry and is the preferred CCW pistol by professionals, law enforcement, body guards, and government agencies.

Glock 30 SF with Pearce Magazine Extension

Glock 30 SF with Magazine Extension

I have the Pearce plus one magazine extender that provides a contoured rest for the little finger and also adds an extra round to the magazine capacity.

A note about Glock 30 magazines. The spring is very stiff. A trick to help make loading the magazine easier is to fully load the mags and let them sit. After a few days the spring will weaken to make loading easier.

Glock 30 with 10 Rd and 13 Rd Magazines

Glock 30 with 10 Rd and 13 Rd Magazines

Glock 30 with 13 Rd Glock 21 Magazine

Glock 30 with 13 Rd Glock 21 Magazine

The Glock 30 can accept the larger Glock 21 13 Rd magazines.

Glock 30 Target shot at 15 Yards

Glock 30 Target Shot at 15 Yards

Glock 30 Sight Picture. Standard Glock outline rear and dot front sight provide outstanding accuracy. The Glock 30 can place rounds in the black all day long. This target was shot at 15 yards.

Glock 30 Sight Picture

Glock 30 Sight Picture

Glock 30 Disassembled for Cleaning

Glock 30 Disassembled for Cleaning

Glock 30 disassembled for cleaning. Disassembly for cleaning is the same as for any Glock pistol. Make sure the pistol is unloaded. Remove the magazine. Make sure the pistol is unloaded. Pull the slide back just until the trigger cocks and then pull up the slide take down lever. Dry fire to release the striker and the slide comes off the front of the frame.

Glock 30 Specs

  • CALIBER .45 ACP
  • WEIGHT Empty 23.99 oz.
  • WEIGHT Loaded 33.86 oz.
  • LENGTH 6.77 in.
  • HEIGHT 4.76 in.
  • MAG. CAPACITY Standard 10
  • MAG. CAPACITY Optional 13
  • WIDTH 1.27 in.
  • TRIGGER PULL 5.5 lbs.
  • TRIGGER TRAVEL 0.5 in.
  • LINE OF SIGHT 5.95 in.
  • BARREL LENGTH 3.78 in.

Related Posts:
Glock 17 Review
Glock 19 Review
Glock 26 Baby Glock
Extension Pinch
Glock 21 Review
Glock Cleaning
External Safety

Incoming search terms:

  • GLOCK 30
  • glock 30sf
  • glock 30 review
  • glock 30sf review
  • glock 30 sf
  • glock 30s reviews
  • glock 30 reviews
  • glock 30 sf reviews
  • glock 30s review
  • Glock 30SF Reviews

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Michael Vincent Jul 17, 2014, 11:49 pm

    I love my Glock 30. I bought mine back in 1999 or 2000. At that time I was carrying my Beretta 92FS with 15 round mags. After I got my Glock 30 I noticed that it was actually & surprisingly more accurate than my full size 9mm Beretta!! From that point on all I carried was my Glock!
    I just recently got rid of my Beretta because I found that I never take it out shooting anymore. It was always my Glock 30 & riffles that made the trips!
    I recently bought a Sig 1911 with Crimson Trace laser grips and love that .45 as well but after a couple weeks if carrying it I reverted back to my Glock 30 once again simply because of the weight and conceal ability! Also my Glock 30 holds 2 more rounds than my full size mag!
    I’m not getting rid of my 1911 because that has always been a gun I have wanted but my Glock 30 once again remains to be my primary carry weapon!!

  • Tony B Jun 16, 2014, 12:06 am

    I carry mine 10 +1. I was taught on Parris Island that you should load -2 on the m16 mags. Spring tension, blah, blahs, blah. It is a design flaw of that hyped up Matel rifle that causes feeding problems with a fully loaded 30 round mag. I enjoy the Glock 30 and the .45 caliber itself. Maybe there are a lot of Dead Eye Dicks out there who only need 7 rounds of .45 or this case 10. Everyone knows the mere mention of .45 makes a bad guy tremble with terror….
    I case they don’t, I would rather have 17 rounds of 9mm in my Glock 17 in a SHTF scenario over my Glock 30. I’m not that good of a shot, if I miss with 17, I can always reload with a 33 round magazine. 🙂

  • Chiseler May 28, 2014, 7:28 pm

    How many to carry in the magazine……..always a fun topic. I say capacity minus 2, but one in the pipe. If you are in a self-defense situation, and 9 rounds of .45 doesn’t solve your problem……you are FUBAR anyways.

    Old military habit …. Don’t stress the magazine springs. Reduce the probability of a feed jam/malfunction. Did the same thing with my rifle.

  • Chuck Burns May 28, 2014, 1:46 am

    I found my Glock 30 to be extremely accurate but it is too big for me to carry comfortably. There is no way to argue with 10 + 1 rounds of 45 ACP. Love those big holes.

  • Chiseler May 27, 2014, 11:24 pm

    Small…..but heavy. Ten +1 rounds of .45 ACP. If you can conceal it or carry it, it’s the game changer for personal defense situations. Plenty accurate for keeping yourself alive.

  • Chuck Burns May 7, 2014, 1:08 pm

    Yes, I too found the Glock 30 to be surprisingly accurate and comfortable to shoot

  • Helen May 7, 2014, 12:01 pm

    I have had the same Glock 30 since sometime in 1997. It has been my carry pistol most of this time. I have put thousand of rounds down range with one broken $4 spring needing replacement in this time. The pistol is dead accurate easy to carry in a purse or holster. I have other pistols just cause but this is the one that always gets carried and used.

  • Chuck Burns Mar 7, 2014, 3:59 pm

    If the Glock 30 is comfortable for you then you have a lot of fire power. It is super accurate and the 45 ACP is a proven self defense caliber. Big holes are always better.

  • John Gibbs Mar 7, 2014, 3:17 pm

    I recently bought the glock 30sf and after the 3rd shot in the first clip it was dead center in the target. I just got a ankle holster for it nice custom fit. after wearing it for a full day I hardly notice it. I usually carry a S and W .380 body guard but it is far less accurate because of the small size. I plan on making the glock my main ccw pistol.

  • cebur19 Nov 13, 2013, 11:25 am

    Let me begin by saying that I am not an XD fan. I looked at the Springfield XD line a couple years ago and wrote a post on my blog about it. I decided then that I had no interest in buying one. The XDs have incorporated features from several manufactures. The Glock safe trigger safety, the Sig Sauer take down lever, the 1911 style grip safety. Not that this is bad. One feature I like about the XD line is the package. You get pretty much everything you need in the box including a holster. But, I don’t care for the Kydex holsters either. So the XD has nothing I’m interested in. It is a very popular line with a lot of people buying them.

    The Glock 30, very accurate, accepts the Glock 21 15 round magazines, comfortable to shoot, but then most 45 caliber pistols are comfy to shoot, and it is a Glock with Glock reliability. The only thing I don’t like about the G30 is that it feels fat.

    I already own the Glock 30SF and don’t shoot it much. I use a glock 21 for home defense with 13 rounds of 45 ACP.

    I like to carry smaller guns for CCW. The G30 would be too big for me. The largest gun for concealed carry for me is the Glock 26. Right now I carry a Beretta Nano 9mm.

    Be sure to find a G30 and an XD 45 to handle, hold, aim, and shoot before you buy. They are both big for concealed carry in my opinion. But there are guys who carry full size 1911’s and love it.

  • Keith Meissner Nov 13, 2013, 9:53 am

    Hi, would like your opion on a glock 30 vs springfield xds (in 45). I m looking to pruchase one or the other for a ccw . Have not been able to shoot either as no one rents them to try.

  • cebur19 Aug 15, 2013, 2:36 pm

    yes the 13 round magazine will work. I’m not familiar with the collar you’re referring to. Try it and see.

  • Zim Aug 15, 2013, 2:03 pm

    I own a Glock 30sf 10 rounds Can you tell me if I can use the glock 21 13 round in my 30sf? I have found a spacer for it but it does not say it will work on a SF

  • cebur19 Jul 23, 2013, 12:26 am

    Hi Chris,
    When I first started to carry a concealed pistol I carried with an empty chamber. I did that because of lack of experience and training. Now, after carrying for about six months I always carry with one in the chamber. Your Glock has three safeties. The trigger must be pushed rearward to disengage all three safeties. The training comes in to educate to keep the trigger finger straight, along side the frame. When ready to fire then put the finger on the trigger. The Glock is plenty safe as long as you keep your finger off that trigger.

    Now I always carry with one in the chamber and feel safe doing it. You must train and practice safe gun handling to safely draw the gun out of the holster while keeping the finger straight and off the trigger. The same goes for loading and unloading. Practice safe gun handling to learn to keep the finger off that trigger.

  • Chris Wode Jul 22, 2013, 6:45 pm

    Hello,

    I have a Glock 30sf. I have a question about the total number of rounds one should put in the Glock 30sf. The mag holds 10 rounds and if you have a round in the pipe (a charged pistol) which would make it 11 total rounds. Do you recommend this or just 9 in the mag and 1 in the pipe? I have heard many schools of thought on this issue. Thank you……..

  • John Mac Jul 8, 2013, 4:57 pm

    Thanks Cebur.

  • cebur19 Jul 8, 2013, 3:57 pm

    This seems to be a common issue with Glock 10 rd magazines. Some suggestions are to use the Glock loader to load the last few rounds. Also let the magazines sit loaded. After a month or so see if they don’t get easier to load.

  • John Mac Jul 8, 2013, 11:33 am

    I recently purchased the Glock 30 with both the 10 and 13 capacity mags. I have difficulty in getting the 10th and 13th rounds into the mags. I have to almost jam them in, and they still do not always seat properly, has anyone else experienced this issue? Any suggestions?

  • cebur19 Apr 19, 2013, 6:36 pm

    I was surprised at how accurate the Glock 30SF is and it is a pleasure to shoot.

  • tooexcessive Apr 19, 2013, 2:51 pm

    I too own a 30sf and have to say it is a wonderful choice for self defense. I wouldn’t call it “light weight”, but quite manageable to carry in a good holster. It is not my EDC, I have a Kahr cw9 for that. But I would not hesitate to use it as such.

  • cebur19 Mar 22, 2013, 3:46 pm

    Thank you for visiting my website

  • Butch Thrower Mar 22, 2013, 12:11 pm

    Great info! Thank you.

    Butch

  • cebur19 Feb 2, 2013, 2:34 pm

    I think you will be very pleased at how accurate your Glock 30SF is. The smaller glocks seem to be more accurate than the full size Glocks. The same with my Glock 26, very accurate.

  • Russ Feb 2, 2013, 10:09 am

    I am a new Glock 30SF owner. This one came with a LaserLyte mounted. I’m looking forward to taking it to the range today to try it out. I like the way it fits my hand size.

  • Edward Shattuck Aug 16, 2012, 10:31 am

    I’m with you on the Glock 30. It is a bit wide, but it draws quickly and is quite accurate. I’ve owned a number of handguns, but in my opinion the Glock beats them all. I am inclined to use a CorBon 165 or 185 grain load simply because of the increased velocity. I will NOT be selling or trading this gun for anything. It is to me the best of all possible worlds. If you’re looking for an outstanding ccw, look no further.