SCCY CPX-2 9mm Subcompact Review

SCCY CPX-2 and SCCY CPX-1 9mm Subcompact Pistol Review. The SCCY CPX-1 and CPX-2 are inexpensive 9mm subcompact pistols that have a quality fit, finish, and feel. The frame and grip is made of Zytel polymer. The comfortable textured grip incorporates an ingenious recoil cushion molded into the back strap. The SCCY 9mm pistols have a 10 + 1 double stack magazine capacity.

SCCY CPX-2 Review

SCCY CPX-2 Review


This is a good looking subcompact 9mm pistol. I like it! Too bad Beretta couldn’t have made the new Beretta Nano look more like this CPX-2.

Controls on both models include external slide lock/release, and magazine release. The CPX-1 also has an ambidextrous safety which on this pistol is not needed and can easily  be  bumped on by accident. The safety is in fact a potential problem waiting to happen in a self defense scenario. The CRX-2 does not have the external safety. The DAO trigger has a long smooth 9 pound pull.

The CPX-2 uses a standard bright white 3 dot sight with windage adjustable rear.

Both SCCY guns are shipped with two 10 + 1 double stack magazines that have a finger extension base plate installed. An optional flat floor plate is included for each magazine.

MSRP is $339 for the satin stainless CPX-2 and the All black CPX-2 has MSRP of $299.  This is a very inexpensive pistol but still has a good quality fit and finish for the money. Better than the Kel-Tec PF9 which is in the same price range.

An important feature that makes the SCCY guns even more desirable is that all SCCY firearms have a lifetime warranty that stays with the gun regardless of owner.

SCCY Industries state of the art CNC machine and assembly facility is located in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Check Price and Availability of the SCCY CPX-2

SCCY CPX-2 and CPX-1 Specs:

  • Barrel Length: 3.1″
  • Height: 4″
  • Length: 5.7″
  • Width: 1″
  • Weight: 15oz
  • Capacity: 10 + 1
  • 3 Dot sights

This SCCY CPX-2 video by Hickock45 shows the CPX-2 to be an affordable, accurate small 9mm. You will have to use your own judgement as to whether it is reliable and suitable as a carry gun.

Here is a YouTube Video Review of the SCCY CPX-2

Other SCCY Posts:
SCCY CPX-2 Review

Incoming search terms:

  • sccy cpx-2 review
  • sccy
  • SCCY CPX-2
  • sccy 9mm
  • sccy reviews
  • yhs-fullyhosted_003
  • sccy cpx 2
  • sccy 9mm reviews
  • SCCY CPX-2 9Mm Review
  • SCCY 9Mm Review

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Stan May 24, 2014, 9:18 pm

    I have SCCY 9 mm great gun

  • Chuck Burns May 18, 2014, 8:56 am

    Thanks very much for the comment. That’s the way it is with the less expensive guns. Either they work or they don’t. I bought the SCCY CPX2 because of all the positive comments. I don’t plan to carry it, I like my Beretta Nano as my concealed carry gun. I haven’t shot the CPX-2 yet but plan to soon now that winter seems to be finally over.

  • Copshop468 May 18, 2014, 7:12 am

    I am retired law enforcement and just got back into shooting after many years. I am SWAT trained, by the way. I just purchased a new Ruger LC9 with Laser site and I also was shown the SCCY CPX-2 while at the dealer. I loved the feel of it and I have have a big hand. The balance was great and the movement of the slide felt good. I ended up buying it, also. Upon taking them directly to the range and shooting 124 gr brass ammo, I found the SCCY to shoot flawlessly and to feel great as I shot it. There were no misfeeds or FTE. I like this gun and you cannot beat it for the money or quality for an inexpensive gun. The recoil was slightly better than the LC9, too. Don’t get me wrong, I like the Ruger also, which cost me around $100 more. The magazines were very stiff to load. I had to really muscle the rounds into them to fill them. I am going to buy a Maglula-Uplula when I finish writing this. Overall: a great sub-compact gun especially for the money.

  • Chuck Burns Apr 23, 2014, 7:16 am

    Thanks Jim for the feed back. The CPX2 has quite a following. I’ll be shooting my CPX2 for the first time in the next few weeks.

  • Jim Apr 22, 2014, 10:11 pm

    Fellas, let me tell you. This CPX 2 is one of the best pistols I’ve ever owned. Mine had a few feed problems but it turned out to be a since remedied problem with the design of the extractor. Since it’s been solved I have had no problems whatsoever after hundreds of different types of ammo. It’s now the only pistol I own! I carry it everyday and know I’m safely armed with a 100% reliable pistol.

    Jim Hart
    Mesa, AZ

  • Chuck Burns Apr 22, 2014, 11:30 am

    It depends on what you want it for. If for concealed carry then I would get a brand name gun like Ruger, Beretta, S&W. I recent;y bought the CPX2 but haven’t taken it out of the box yet. I plan to do a review but won’t use it as a carry gun. I carry the Beretta Nano right now

  • Stan Apr 22, 2014, 10:33 am

    I bought an SCCY why CPX 2 to and after reading all the reviews I am afraid I might have made a mistake haven’t fired the gun yet and wondering if I should take it back and get a better brand

  • Raymond Feb 24, 2014, 9:40 pm

    Just bought an SCCY CPX TT. Ran 2 magazines through it with no problem out-of-the-box. When the Armalaser is received, will run a hundred rounds through it. Looks like good quality and has a good feel. Would like to see a trigger shoe as an option.

  • Chuck Burns Dec 26, 2013, 6:48 pm

    That is the problem with these inexpensive guns. Like the KelTec PF9 sometimes it takes some work to get them to shoot reliably. Although there is a large following of SCCY and KelTec owners who swear by them. I have a Keltec PF9 and now just bought the SCCY CPX2. I wouldn’t carry either as a personal defense weapon. I carry the main brands of Beretta, Smith and Wesson, and Glock as my personal defense weapons.

  • Ken Dec 26, 2013, 6:29 pm

    This is a follow-up to my Dec 8 post. I sent the CPX2 to SCCY for repairs or replacement. Got it back in about 3 days with Sales Order stating new slide installed. I took it to the indoor range. Same problem! Jammed after 2 to 3 rounds. Lots of double feeds. It was actually worse after they worked on it. I protested to SCCY, and they offered to give me a new replacement. I am waiting for the new gun to arrive. I doubt I will keep it if it works. It is not a reliable handgun for CC/Self defense. Don’t waste your money on this gun.

  • Chuck Burns Dec 26, 2013, 6:05 pm

    Thanks for the feed back and do let us know how this pans out. I just purchased the SCCY CPX2. I really had no desire to own the gun but there has been so much interest shown for it that I decided to get one of my own to evaluate.

  • James Hart Dec 26, 2013, 4:48 pm

    I bought a new SCCY 2. Ser # 103xxx. Pretty new gun. Took to range and fired 75 rounds thru it. FMJ, s/d hollow points, and the pointy critical defense bullet. Had MANY failures to fully go into battery. Pretty much every shot required a whack of the off-hand palm to battery it. Did some research on the net and took apart the mags and cut off one loop of the bottom of the mag springs. Re assembled and went back to range today. Put another 100 rounds thru. Many failures again. Once it got down to the last 5 rounds it ran better but now and then failed to feed last round from mags. Called SCCY and they said they’d send me a new barrel, just in case it has a throat problem. Will keep you posted.

  • cebur19 Dec 8, 2013, 3:54 pm

    I’m sure they will take care of you. I hear a lot of positive reviewa about the gun and when there is a problem SCCY seems to jump right on it. Please let us know hoe it works out

  • Ken Dec 8, 2013, 2:47 pm

    Bought a new SCCY 9mm. First time on indoor range, it was not very accurate even from a sandbag. Very difficult to get good 3-shoot groupings. Second time, after 2 to 3 rounds fired, spent casing did not eject. Cleaned gun well and tried again with 4 different brands of ammo. Ejection problem persisted. It would fire 2 to 3 rounds, and then fail to eject. I sent it to SCCY for, hopefully, replacement. This handgun is a bitter disappointment.

  • cebur19 Nov 23, 2013, 2:56 pm

    No problem on length of comment. Really appreciate the feedback. Because of all the interest in the CPX models I am thinking about buying one so I can give it a good long test. I hear a lot of positives and not really much negative about the SCCy CPX-2.

  • Gary Klein Nov 23, 2013, 2:47 pm

    Bought yesterday (gen 2) and went to Range immediately. No cleanup or prep. Wanted a cheaper ammo range gun and/or carry gun. Shot over 100 rounds-115 and 124 grain bullets. HAD NO PROBLEMS!!! Repeat, NO PROBLEMS!!! Good quality-I can compare to my Glocks, Colt, Rugers and Smith and Wessons. Has a VERY even and smooth trigger pull and an expected break. DA feels exactly like my S & W Bodyguard .308 trigger pull. Both great. I like the pull amount for safety reasons. LESS recoil snap than my Glock 27 (.40)!!! Same snap as my .380. Shot all 3 guns at same session so could compare. Shot all at 7 yrds and then went to 10 yrds–every shot put in chest-head areas!! From ALL guns. No difference in accuracy. No hand discomfort after 1 1/2 hr at range. Got home and field stripped and was very clean and was lubed good from factory and looks nearly like my glock in quality. Mags were stiff to load but went home and used UpLULA and put all 10 in without any drama. Will leave in few days to see how spring loosens up.

    Was worried about buying because of other reviews. Glad I bought it!!!! Thus, this gun exceeded by expectations. In my opinion, I will use as a range gun and as a carry gun. How can you go wrong for $250. Also don’t forget lifetime guarantee.

    This is my first ever comment to any you tube video, wanted to give my experience in detail, so sorry for the length.

  • Mike Nelson Nov 9, 2013, 10:03 am

    I am a dealer and my distributor sent me a sccy pistol to use and let him know what I thought, so I did. I think this is just about the best concealed carry pistol that I have seen in a long while. I and my wife both now carry the sccy cpx and love them. We have had no trouble and the trigger is smooth and precise. Accuracy is not a problem, two head shots at 21 feet with out aiming, just point shooting, in less than an inch dead center. I sell the Sccy and all the persons have loved this pistol. The only problem so far is that a magazine was not functioning properly and Sccy sent a new magazine to the customer right away. That is a good indication of what a warranty is supposed to be. Love it or leave it, you have to admit it is a very good gun for the money

  • mark Apr 25, 2013, 8:49 pm

    yes the maganize it is very hard put bullet in it what i did like put 5 round make sure you tap the magianze with your hand then take all 5 rounds then try 7 rounds same thing then put ten it works after that .

  • cebur19 Apr 3, 2013, 1:37 pm

    Sorry to hear that it gave you trouble. You might also check out the Beretta Nano, Ruger LC9, or S&W Shield

  • Paula Apr 3, 2013, 10:18 am

    I bought the sccy 9mm and right off the bat it started jamming occasionally not I was trying to qualify at a concealed class and the safety flipped up after every shot. Had to qualify with instructers gun. Not pleased with this prob at all.

  • cebur19 Mar 30, 2013, 3:06 pm

    Yes, for personal protection I would stay with the big names in guns like Glock, S&W, Beretta, Sig Sauer, Ruger etc. I carry either a Beretta, Glock, or S&W for EDC

  • Philip Cardwell Mar 30, 2013, 9:17 am

    I bought 2 of the CPX2 9 mm on March 26th at a gun shop in Alabaster Al. The next day I took the two guns to the range where I ran 12 clips through the first gun. The second gun I fired it 3 times and the trigger assembly fell apart. I contacted customer service where I was told they would be happy to replace the broken parts but was not willing to replace the brand new firearm with another. If this was my only source of protection I would be without protection during the repair process. At best, I feel that I would have a 50% chance of survival if I were to rely on the SCCY 9mm for primary protection.

  • Shooter62 Mar 4, 2013, 6:06 pm

    No problem cebur19. The Maglula is WELL worth the money. The 9mm model is also good for .45 cal. Enjoy.

  • cebur19 Mar 4, 2013, 8:42 am

    Thanks for the tip.

  • Shooter62 Mar 3, 2013, 9:02 pm

    For real easy loading of ANY magazine, buy a Maglula-Uplula (Amazon.com) I think I paid $24.00. It’s super fast and smooth & effortless. No “vise-grip fingers” need to use this baby.

  • cebur19 Mar 3, 2013, 8:00 pm

    I see the SCCY CPX-2 and CPX-1 for sale on GunBroker priced under $300. For a dealer in Colorado you could contact SCCY customer service. The famous gun shop called GunSmoke Guns is in Wheat ridge, Colorado.

  • Robert kresley jr Mar 3, 2013, 7:38 pm

    I would like to know if there are any dealers in the state of colorado. that carries the
    SCCY Cpx-2 9MM. an if not were i might beabel to find one to Buy.

  • cebur19 Jan 25, 2013, 3:36 pm

    Yes, this has been a problem with many of the CPX magazines. Suggest you contact SCCY customer service. Hope they take care of it for you. Thanks for your comment

  • george Jan 25, 2013, 12:39 pm

    Find it very hard to load 10 rounds in magazine. Need vice grip fingers to load.

  • cebur19 Dec 7, 2012, 6:08 pm

    It sounds like you got a good one. I may just have to pick one up to do my own review. Thanks for your detailed comment. Some great information.

  • Terry Dec 7, 2012, 12:15 pm

    On November 20th of 2012 I bought a SCCY CPX-2. I was a bit apprehensive but all of that has been set aside. So far I have shot 150 rounds through this gun and it functions flawlessly. For that matter the first two shots, two hand hold at 25 ft. were bullseye and edge of the bullseye! After that I worked at just getting the feel and shooting fast but accurately. The biggest challenge is not to let the DAO trigger pull you one way or the other, but with practice and discipline this inclination can be overcome.
    I am very pleased with the purchase. The cost was excellent and I am entirely happy. I also have no issues at all with the mag release button. It is a bit out there, but is not something that’s going to cause an issue.
    I’d also like to mention that I was shooting a real smorgasbord of ammo that had been given to me by a friend who got rid of a 9 that he had. The ammo was from a shop that reloaded but the three boxes were all different bullets (yet I think all 115 grn). Not a single jam, just two misfires, not the guns fault. In the next outing, I’ll be shooting my own reloads! I expect no difficulties.
    I would say, “Don’t be afraid. I am pleased. You will be too!”

  • cebur19 Nov 18, 2012, 11:09 pm

    Get in touch with SCCY customer service. Maybe they can offer some advice. Let us know what you find out. Here is the site link http://www.sccy.com/

  • Larry Hasbargen Nov 18, 2012, 2:22 pm

    Love the gun. If they would learn to make good magazines it would be perfect. Supposed to hold 10, but I am only able to get 7 in. The spring appears to be to strong.

  • cebur19 Oct 1, 2012, 7:58 pm

    Hi Mark, Thank you for your comment. Sorry about the problem with your SCCY pistol. I’m not affiliated with SCCY Industries at all. Here is the contact information you need to get in touch with them about your problem. Let us know how it turns out.

    Telephone
    (386) 322-6336 ‎Local
    (866) 729-7599 Toll Free

    Address
    SCCY Industries
    1800 Concept Court
    Daytona Beach, FL 32114

  • MARK FROST Oct 1, 2012, 6:18 pm

    I owen a sccy 9mm I love the gun . I only have one problum with it the spring on the side of the rail for the triger brook and I wood like to know if you can send me one my add is 3119 Dorf Dr Moraine Ohio 45439. Iam sure i can put it in or you can call me at 937-604-7930 if you need to ask me any thing. THANK YOU MARK

  • cebur19 Sep 1, 2012, 9:57 pm

    Thanks for the update

  • Larry Colombo Sep 1, 2012, 2:38 pm

    Out of the box it worked great. Zeroed at 5 yrds. Only one FTE in first 50 rounds. None after that. I suspect the cheap ammo that my gun range requires us to use.
    Excellent for the price. No regrets.

  • cebur19 Aug 21, 2012, 7:04 am

    I don’t understand why gun manufactures allow lawyers to design their triggers. Gun makers seem to think that having a hard long trigger pull makes a gun safer. The idea of accuracy doesn’t seem to be a factor in their trigger design. I have to give the Kimber Solo some credit for having a smooth easy trigger pull. One of the very worst triggers is the Ruger LC9. The LC9 is an absolute great gun but the trigger ruins it for many including me. The very best of the best triggers on an everyday carry gun are the Smith & Wesson Gen 3 pistols. They have a true double action first strike with extremely smooth single action subsequent strikes. No problems with safety and extremely accurate. I don’t like the idea of having to “learn” the trigger. I shoot a lot of different guns. When I decide to use my self defense weapon why should i have to “re learn” the trigger in order to get off a safe and accurate shot? Just my two cents. Thanks for the comment and good to hear that the SCCY is working for you. And thank you for carrying everyday. We need more citizens to carry.

  • Brian Aug 21, 2012, 12:00 am

    I have to admit going from a Glock trigger to the sccy trigger took alittle bit to get on too. I took it out this weekend and dead centered a golf ball at 15 yards very suprised how good it shoots for a $249.76 gun. I carry it everyday.

  • cebur19 Aug 16, 2012, 4:25 pm

    Yes, hollow point ammo is not a problem

  • steve Aug 16, 2012, 2:45 pm

    will the cpx-2 shoot HP ammo?
    a gun seller told me it will not.

  • cebur19 Aug 11, 2012, 4:39 pm

    What did you like about your new gun? How was the recoil. Was it accurate for your shooting style? Give us an update. Thanks for the comment and information.

  • Brian Aug 11, 2012, 4:15 pm

    I bought a sccy about a week ago. I brought it home and looked it up and found nothing but bad reviews I thought i screwed up . But i took it out and shot about three hundred rounds and not a problem. I find alot of the bad reviews are people who dont know how to shoot a gun.