Sig Mosquito Reviews – Sig Mosquito Problems and Fixes

I have gathered several Sig Mosquito Reviews that shed some light on the typical problems and tips for improvements. I recently bought a Sig Sauer 22lr Mosquito because I liked the look and feel of the gun and it was a Sig. After getting it home I had more time for research because the shooting range was closed for hunting season so I couldn’t do any shooting. What I learned is that there is a lot more negative feedback about this gun than positive.

Sig Sauer Mosquito in the Hand

Sig Sauer Mosquito in the Hand

I haven’t even shot the Mosquito yet but it is turning out to be a disappointment and making me think that I made a mistake. The following reviews point out the feed and eject problems that are common to the Sig Mosquito. They also provide tips and suggestions on how to improve the feeding of rounds and the ejection of spent cases. Here is the first Sig Mosquito Review video by jboritzki. He describes the feed ramp polishing that improves feeding and the chamber polishing that improves ejection:

In this second review jboritzki has almost convinced me to give the Sig Sauer 22lr Mosquito another chance. Here he fires over 100 rounds of cheap Wal-Mart Federal bulk ammo with only one jam. I was ready to return the gun to my local gun shop but now I’m thinking about it. Do I want to try the polishing and take a chance or return the gun and buy something else?

For good measure here is another Sig Mosquito Review that pretty much says the same thing. The Mosquito is prone to jamming, it cycles best using CCI Mini Mags for ammunition, and polishing the feed ramp and chamber greatly improves operation.

Incoming search terms:

  • sig sauer mosquito problems
  • Sig Mosquito Problems
  • sig sauer mosquito jamming problems
  • sig mosquito kaufen
  • sig sauer mosquito 22lr problems

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Steve Aug 21, 2014, 4:07 pm

    I loved the feel of this gun, I was also very upset with the jamming from various reasons. I didn’t give up on the gun and continued firing rounds. After 300 rounds and the perfect ammo my mosquito now jams 1 of 200 shots. For some odd reason mini mag doesn’t cycle great on my gun, oddly I found Remington thunderbolt is the perfect 22 for mine. Happy I kept it

  • Chuck Burns Aug 4, 2014, 9:21 am

    Call Sig Sauer Customer Service
    Have the model and serial number ready.
    best time to call is Weds-Fri 9am – 12pm EST

    1 (603) 772-2302

    Have the model and serial number ready.

    US Mail:
    SIG SAUER Inc.
    Customer Service Dept.
    18 Industrial Drive
    Exeter, NH 03833-4557

  • Brien Aug 4, 2014, 9:00 am

    I recently was operated on for a hip replacement. I went to the range with a friend and fell. The weapon was empty but I dropped it and it scratched the slide on the top leaving several marks l I am 72 years old and can not do work as once could. Is there a way I can send the weapon back to Sig Sauer to be fixed. I bought the weapon almost a year ago. Please contact me with information. It is a really fun gun to shoot.
    Brien Lamkins

  • Chuck Burns May 28, 2014, 1:41 am

    I don’t think the Mosquito is actually built by Sig. I think it is just re-branded. You are not alone, many people feel the same way about the Mosquito. For those who like it, the Mosquito has a great feel and handles very much like its big brother the Sig P226.

  • jeremy May 27, 2014, 11:33 pm

    I traded a 9mm taurus for my sig-22 and I have to say 🙁 I got ripped off . This is a junk gun at best. My Phonex Arms 22 is half the cost and twice the gun. I just bought a Browning BUCK MARK 22lr and out of the box it is 10 times the gun ,I heard that sig’s were top of the line guns ??? The trigger is worse than anything I have ever shot in my life , a air soft gun has a better trigger pull, I’m very glad I didn’t spend money on this gun. I will make sure in the future I never buy another sig-sauer product

  • Chuck Burns Mar 24, 2014, 1:22 pm

    That seems to be a common problem. I suggest first that you contact Sig Sauer Service. They should be able to advise you. I would think that they would want the gun back for evaluation and repair. I also suggest not modifying your original parts. Send it back for service. If you are determined to do it yourself then Order replacement parts to modify, Keep the original parts intact.

  • Charles Mar 24, 2014, 12:43 pm

    Hi Brian,

    I figured out that my Mosquito had an extraction problem due to inadequate pressure being exerted on the rim by the extractor. However, I have been unable to figure out how to disassemble the slide assembly to get at the extractor so I can remove a small amount of metal from the inboard side allowing it to grip the rim better. How did you disassemble your slide?

  • tara Aug 28, 2013, 11:47 pm

    It is a semi auto 22. There will always be some type of a jam. No matter what pistol if you are going through ammo!

  • cebur19 Aug 25, 2013, 7:06 pm

    That’s good to hear, The Mosquito is one that you either love or hate. With quality ammo it is a joy to shoot.

  • les williams Aug 25, 2013, 5:19 pm

    I corrected my sig issues and am pleased with mine.

  • cebur19 Feb 21, 2013, 12:46 pm

    I think you should call Sig Sauer customer service. I would think that they would inspect the pistol, replace any suspect parts, and polish the feed ram for you. Let us know what you decide to do.

  • Randy Feb 20, 2013, 8:22 pm

    I have the same problem with my mosquito, but i’m not that mechanical. I’m not sure what to do. I just wish Sig would have taken all of these guns back and repaired them! Randy

  • cebur19 Oct 16, 2012, 1:18 pm

    Hello Brian,
    Thank you for you detailed and exceptional comment. I agree with you that Sig, a manufacturer with a reputation for quality, put their brand on a gun that is not up to expected Sig Sauer quality. The Mosquito has a great feel and is fun to shoot but is well known for being prone to jams with certain ammo. I would rather pay a little more for a quality product than pay less for less quality.

  • Brian Oct 16, 2012, 10:30 am

    I wrote this to Sig:

    The gun has several design issues and the extractor is the main problem. If you measure the dia. of the rim on CCI its .2735 and varies about .0005. You go to some of the bulk stuff it will very anywhere from .2685-.2735 the smaller dia’s is where you start to have issues. The first thing I did when I got my gun was manually insert a bullet into the receiver under the extractor it flopped around and was not tightly held in place by the extractor that is the problem. The extractor also bumps up against the barrel when the slide closes sometimes causing the slide to not completely close and pushing the slide to one side adding to the extractor issue. If the receiver is not held tightly against the slide you will have more FTF’s. I fixed this on my gun among other things and it will now shoot anything. This is a quality control issue that should have been caught and corrected by Sig. but it was easier to say use the larger rim higher quality CCI’s. What a shame you could have really hit a home run with this gun. Now all you have done is give yourselves a considerable black eye. I enjoy these kind of puzzles and I had fun fixing and testing my fixes. This is my first hand gun purchase I work for a large aircraft manufacturer and I am a research engineer/technician with a background in machining and fabrication not looking for a job just making a comment. I actually bought the gun knowing there was a problem looking for a challenge. I have no axe to grind just curious why you chose not to do better you could have made a lot of money for a long time.

    Brian